Philippine Standard Time
facebook facebook facebook


   Alert Level

   Monitoring Network

    Hazard Map

   Volcano Observatory

    Historical Eruptions


NAME OF VOLCANO:                                MAYON
LOCATION:                                                  Albay, 300 km southeast of Manila
                                                                      (13°15.4'N, 123°41.1’E)

Elevation: 2.46 km
Base Diameter: 20 km
Base Circumference: 62.8 km (reckoned from 10-km radius) encompassing the towns of Camalig, Malilipot and Sto. Domingo
Type of Volcano: Stratovolcano
Adjacent Volcanic Edifice: Mt. Malinao, Lignon Hill and Balong Gloria Hill


Rock Type: Basalt to Olivine-bearing Pyroxene Andesite
Tectonic Setting: Bicol Volcanic Chain


Number of Historical Eruptions: 51
Latest Eruption/Activity:

12 August 2014 (lava dome growth)

Eruption Type:

1. Strombolian (e.g.. 1978, 1st phase of 1984 eruption)
2. Vulcanian (e.g. 1st phase of 1968 eruption, 2nd phase of 1984 eruption)
3. Plinian (e.g. 1814)

Precursors to Eruptions:

1. Increase in seismicity level (Background: 0-10 volcanic quakes per day)
2. Ground tilt due to magma intrusion.
3. Change in color of steam emission from white to gray due to entrained ash
4. Increase in the volume of steam emission
5. Crater glow due to presence of magma at or near the crater.
6. Rumbling sounds due to gas explosions, wall fracturing, landslides


Type of Hazards:

1. Airfall tephra
2. Lava flows
3. Pyroclastic flows
4. Lahars

Permanent Danger Zone: six (6) km radius from the summit



Volcano Observatory: Lignon Hill Observatory (LHO) - 12 km SSE of the summit (123°43.56’ E,                                                                                                                 13°09.64’N)
Monitoring Methods:

1. Seismic monitoring (number of volcanic quakes and tremors)
2. Ground deformation (precise leveling, electronic tiltmeter, GPS)
3. Visual observations (telemetered ip Cameras)
4. Sulfur dioxide emission (by COSPEC/Flyspec/NOVAC)
5. Carbon Dioxide emission (Gasbox)
6. Water well monitoring


Monitoring Stations

A - Seismic Network
Digital Permanent: Lignon Hill Observatory, Upper Anoling, Sta. Misericordia, Mayon Rest House, Buang Junction, Muladbucad, Masarawag, Guinobatan, Calbayog and Golf Course
with repeater sites at Mt. Bariw, Upper Sto. Domingo and Tabaco
B - Ground Deformation
· PRECISE LEVELING LINES: Buang Junction to Mayon Rest House (20 benchmarks); Lidong (13
· GPS STATIONS: Legazpi (Lignon Hill), Sto. Domingo (San Andres),Sto. Domingo (Lidong), Sto.Domingo (Bical), Sto.Domingo (Sta. Misericordia), Camalig (Upper Anoling), Tabaco (MRH), Tabaco (Buang), Ligao (Nabonton) and Camalig (Upper Anoling)

· PERMANENT ELECTRONIC TILTMETER STATIONS: Upper Anoling, Buang, Calbayog, Danny Bon (between Buang & MRH), and Mayon Rest House (MRH)

Updated 21-Mar-2017